Range hoods, rated on who makes it, the warranty and the repairs
Every range hood brand that sells in color, scored out of 10 on the eight things buyers spend months trying to find out. Every score traces to a manufacturer's own words, a government recall notice, or a review record.

What each column measures
- Who makes it
- Names the maker and the country?
- Warranty
- How long, and what voids it
- Repair
- Does anyone turn up?
- Safety
- Recalls, and did the fix work
- Owners
- What the reviews really say
- Color
- Choice, samples, changing it later
- Price
- Street price today
- Delivery
- In stock, or weeks away?
| Brand | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AGAThe trim metal, not the color, drives the price: chrome or brass adds $1,160 to $2,260. | 7 | 5 | 2 | 9 | 3 | 6 | 3 | 3 |
| BertazzoniThe Heritage hood in Nero Matt or Avorio is $3,928 for the 36 inch, base plus canopy. | 9 | 5 | 8 | 9 | 3 | 4 | 9 | 9 |
| Big ChillEvery Big Chill hood is sold painted; there is no stainless version. | 4 | 2 | 2 | 9 | 3 | 9 | 8 | 4 |
| BlueStarThe widest color choice here, and the most expensive color. | 6 | 5 | 5 | 9 | 3 | 8 | 2 | 3 |
| ElmiraThe 1961 only recirculates; the ducted 30 inch 1962 starts at $2,195. | 6 | 3 | 3 | 9 | 3 | 8 | 8 | 2 |
| FornoThe cheapest colored hood in this research. | 5 | 5 | 2 | 9 | 3 | 2 | 10 | 9 |
| GE CaféColor here means matte white or matte black, nothing brighter. | 4 | 2 | 7 | 9 | 6 | 3 | 9 | 9 |
| ILVEColor-matched chimney extensions are sold separately, from $581. | 5 | 5 | 2 | 9 | 3 | 8 | 8 | 6 |
| KitchenAidMatches the Juniper and Black Ore ranges, in stock. | 2 | 2 | 4 | 9 | 4 | 6 | 9 | 8 |
| La CornuePriced like a range from most brands, with the range's warranty question attached. | 4 | 5 | 4 | 9 | 3 | 7 | 3 | 4 |
| LacancheIt matches the range exactly, on the same five to six month wait. | 7 | 3 | 4 | 9 | 2 | 6 | 3 | 1 |
| LGOne of the few hoods where the color costs less than stainless. | 2 | 5 | 5 | 9 | 3 | 3 | 9 | 3 |
| MieleGerman-made and named, with one of the weakest service records here. | 9 | 6 | 3 | 9 | 2 | 6 | 6 | 3 |
| Samsung BespokeThe cheapest white hood here, while the sale lasts. | 2 | 4 | 3 | 9 | 6 | 5 | 10 | 8 |
| SmegThe Portofino color hoods are being cleared; the 48 inch red is $749 while stock lasts. | 4 | 5 | 3 | 9 | 3 | 3 | 9 | 3 |
| ThorColor costs nothing extra on most models; the 36 inch under-cabinet is $140 more. | 2 | 4 | 2 | 9 | 3 | 2 | 10 | 5 |
| UniqueUnique's spec sheet says 500 CFM; its product page says both 500 and 700. | 3 | 2 | 2 | 9 | 5 | 4 | 10 | 7 |
| VikingThe same hood in stainless is $1,769. | 4 | 5 | 5 | 9 | 3 | 5 | 7 | 3 |
| WolfBlack or white glass, and no price until you ask. | 8 | 6 | 6 | 9 | 3 | 3 | 2 | 8 |
| ZLINEThe color is a shell over a stainless hood, as on ZLINE's colored-door ranges. | 4 | 6 | 4 | 9 | 4 | 6 | 10 | 9 |
Researched, but no color model sold in the US: Kucht (Sells no painted color hood. 'Titanium' is a dark stainless finish, so a colored Kucht range comes with a stainless or gold-trim hood.); Galanz (No retro hood found. Its retro line is microwaves, fridges and small appliances.); Hallman (Lists white and glossy black hoods, but Hallman's own pages are down and Lowe's no longer sells them, so there is no live price to score.); Officine Gullo (Paints its hoods in any color, but no US price, warranty document or owner record was found, so it is not scored.); Hestan (Sells wall hoods in its factory colors, but no current US price for a kitchen hood could be found, so it is not scored yet.)
Why each brand scored what it did
Open a brand to read the sourced reason behind all eight numbers, when it was checked, and the sources.
AGAThe trim metal, not the color, drives the price: chrome or brass adds $1,160 to $2,260.
Says so in its own warranty: 'AGA ventilation products are proudly manufactured by Trade-Wind.' Where Trade-Wind builds it is not stated; the spec sheet cites 'global sourcing'.
Two years on materials and workmanship, issued by Trade-Wind, not AGA. Excludes light bulbs and service calls caused by faulty installation, such as undersized ducting.
Hood claims go to Trade-Wind through its website, not to AGA. Trade-Wind's service network was not found. AGA's own US service is one weekday phone line with no locator.
No CPSC recall found, under AGA or under Trade-Wind.
No public record. No star ratings on AJ Madison's AGA hood listings, and no owner thread on an AGA hood found.
Fourteen colors, five trim metals, custom on request, and color costs nothing over stainless. But AGA's own spec sheet warns 'paint and / or trim may have minor variations'.
$7,119 for the 36 inch Loge in Slate, AJ Madison
Quote request only on AGA's site, no lead time, and no hood found in stock at a dealer.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Trade-Wind warranty for AGA ventilation (maker, two years), AGA Cascade hood page, AGA hoods page (14 colors), AGA hood spec sheet (paint may have minor variations), AGA customer care (one service line), AGA USA FAQs. Link to this entry
BertazzoniThe Heritage hood in Nero Matt or Avorio is $3,928 for the 36 inch, base plus canopy.
'All Bertazzoni hoods are designed, engineered and made in Italy.' It says the Heritage color is a separate canopy on a stainless base, and that Nero Matt is a powder coat.
'All Bertazzoni appliances are covered by a 2-year warranty,' on the hood page. AJ Madison lists 2 years.
Its own North American service team, and it will let you use your own technician with live phone support during the repair.
No CPSC recall found.
No public record. Zero reviews at AJ Madison on the Heritage base, both color canopies and the Carbonio hood, and 'Reviews coming soon' at Best Buy.
Heritage canopy in Nero Matt or Avorio ivory at the stainless price; Professional in Carbonio for $240 more. None of the gloss range colors such as Rosso. No custom colors.
$1,729 for the 36 inch Professional in Carbonio, AJ Madison
Carbonio and matte white hoods in stock at Plesser's with free freight.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Bertazzoni Heritage 36 inch canopy and base hood (made in Italy, 2-year warranty), Bertazzoni colors and finishes, AJ Madison, K36HERTX base hood (price, no reviews), AJ Madison, KT36CAT Carbonio (price), AJ Madison, KC36HERTNE Nero Matt canopy, Best Buy, K36HERTX (reviews coming soon), Bertazzoni FAQ (use your own technician), Bertazzoni service request. Link to this entry
Big ChillEvery Big Chill hood is sold painted; there is no stainless version.
'Designed in Boulder, CO' and 'Assembled in the USA', in Cedar Rapids, Iowa or Blandon, Pennsylvania, the Prizer-Painter (BlueStar) address. The hood manual names no maker.
One year parts and labor from installation. Seven days to report cosmetic damage. An electrician must install it, and service more than 50 miles from a servicer is at your cost.
No published service network. The hood manual puts service more than 50 miles one way from an authorized servicer at your cost. A reviewer: 'They have no established designated service network.'
No CPSC recall found on a Big Chill hood. The brand's 2018 recall was on ranges and wall ovens.
No public record. Zero reviews on its own hood pages, not sold at Home Depot, Lowe's or Best Buy, and no owner thread on a Big Chill hood found.
7 standard, 6 premium (+$295) and 200+ RAL custom colors (+$395), $5 swatch. Same color menu as the ranges, but Big Chill does not say the hood matches exactly. No color change later.
$2,095 for the 30 inch Retro, direct
Built to order: the Pro Hood 'Allow 5-7 weeks for production', plus one to three weeks transit.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Big Chill 30 inch Retro hood page (warranty, colors, price, lead time), Big Chill ventilation install manual (painted finish, 50-mile clause), Big Chill our story (assembled in Iowa and Pennsylvania), Big Chill hoods shop (prices), Big Chill 36 inch Retro Bungalow hood (no reviews), BBB customer reviews, Big Chill (no service network), CPSC recall notice, Sept 2018 (ranges and wall ovens). Link to this entry
BlueStarThe widest color choice here, and the most expensive color.
'Proudly handcrafted in Pennsylvania since 1880.' Customs records show a Spanish firm, FRECAN, shipping extractor hoods to Prizer-Painter; which hood lines is not found. Painted to RAL.
Written to cover its hoods: two years parts and labor if registered within 90 days, otherwise one. Paint is covered for 30 days.
A real two-tier authorized servicer network with a locator, but no published coverage promise and a 100-mile limit.
No CPSC recall found on a BlueStar, Prizer or Abbaka hood.
Almost none. Zero reviews at AJ Madison and not sold at the big boxes. One Trustpilot owner, 4 stars: 'The range and rangehood are fantastic'.
750+ colors and custom color matching, on the same RAL paint program as the ranges. But color adds $1,495 on the Normandy 36 inch, and $3,895 for a custom match. No repaint later.
$7,980 for the 36 inch Normandy in a standard RAL color, AJ Madison
Stainless in stock; every painted or custom hood is 'Special Order', with no lead time published.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: BlueStar ventilation page (750+ colors, Pennsylvania), Customs record, Prizer-Painter Stove Works (Spanish hood supplier), BlueStar warranty PDF (covers hoods), AJ Madison, NR036MLC Normandy in standard RAL, AJ Madison, NR036ML Normandy stainless, Houzz: BlueStar sticker shock, $1,900 paint job, Trustpilot, bluestarcooking.com, BlueStar service locator. Link to this entry
ElmiraThe 1961 only recirculates; the ducted 30 inch 1962 starts at $2,195.
Elmira's own hood, Ontario, Canada, in painted steel with polished trim. The pages give an Arnprior, Ontario address but do not say where the hood itself is made.
One year parts and labor, without the extra years its ranges get. Enamel and porcelain coatings are excluded.
Dealer-led. No technician locator, no service page, one phone number.
No CPSC recall found.
No public record. No reviews on the hood pages, not sold at the big boxes, and no owner thread found. The brand averages 3.5 from 187 on Birdeye.
Eight Northstar colors shared with the ranges, plus over 200 RAL colors or a match to your own sample. The custom price is not published, and no color change later.
$2,095 for the 30 inch 1961 Northstar, recirculating, direct
No lead time published anywhere.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Elmira 1961 Northstar hood (price, colors), Elmira 1962 Northstar hood (painted steel, price), Elmira product warranty page (hoods one year), Elmira parts and service page, Elmira FAQs, Birdeye aggregate, Elmira Stove Works. Link to this entry
FornoThe cheapest colored hood in this research.
CTM Household Appliances of Montreal, made in China per Forno's own US sales director and customs records. The hood pages name no maker, factory or coating.
No hood-specific term found. Forno's range warranty is two years parts and labor, though its own marketing site contradicts it.
Phone triage then a third-party servicer. Owners describe an AI phone line and unanswered emails. A remote-area clause shifts travel cost to you.
No CPSC recall found.
Almost none. One review each on three black hoods at Home Depot, rated 4 or 5. No hood review text or owner threads found.
Black or white only, some with antique brass trim. No custom colors. Black or white costs $100 more on the Venezia and nothing more on the Aria.
$349 for the 30 inch Bari Espresso under-cabinet in white, direct
Ships as a parcel by FedEx Ground; free delivery on Amazon.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: forno.ca (brand site, USD prices), Houzz: Forno's US sales director on China and Montreal, Customs record, CTM Household Appliances (ImportGenius), Forno limited warranty PDF, Trustpilot, forno.ca, Home Depot, Forno Leonardo Espresso range and hood bundle. Link to this entry
GE CaféColor here means matte white or matte black, nothing brighter.
GE Appliances, a Haier company, Louisville, Kentucky. Where the hoods are built and what the matte coating is: not stated.
One year, Café's standard term, per AJ Madison. No longer hood coverage found.
Café Authorized Servicers, booked online. Where none is available you may pay a trip charge or have to bring the product in. Terms read on Café's fridge warranty.
No CPSC recall found on a Café hood.
4.44 from 63 on the glass canopy, pooled across finishes. Complaints: lights out at two weeks, a motor dead after two years, flap noise after one. The 36 inch commercial has 9.
Matte white or matte black only, $180 over stainless on the glass canopy. Handles swap to six metal finishes. Owners report Café matte white pieces varying in shade.
$1,029 for the 30 inch glass canopy in matte white, AJ Madison
Matte white wall hood in stock, estimated delivery within a week, free freight.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: AJ Madison, CVW73614MWM glass canopy (reviews, price), AJ Madison, CVW93644PWM commercial hood (warranty, price), Café refrigerator warranty PDF (authorized servicers, trip charge), Reddit r/Appliances: Café matte white shade differences, GE Appliances company facts, Café custom hardware. Link to this entry
ILVEColor-matched chimney extensions are sold separately, from $581.
Says 'painted steel body', but the hood pages do not say who makes it or where. A customs record shows ILVE SPA of Campodarsego, Italy shipping 'ovens and hoods' to ILVE USA.
No hood-specific term found. ILVE's brand warranty is two years parts and labor, but 30 days cosmetic, and a defect must be reported in writing within 30 days.
Its US distributor went bankrupt in February 2024 and the new one says it has no liability for that period. Buyers report ILVE unable to find a technician.
No CPSC recall found.
No public record. Zero reviews on ILVE's own page and at AJ Madison, no rating at Home Depot, and the Reddit threads found are about the ranges, not the hoods.
Eight colors named and coded like the Nostalgie ranges, at the stainless price, plus RAL on request for $1,694 more. Color samples can be ordered. Most colors are 90 to 120 days on pre-order.
$2,286 for the 30 inch Nostalgie in Midnight Blue, ILVE direct
ILVE's own site lists colored hoods on pre-order into December, but one dealer shows seventeen ILVE hoods in stock.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: ILVE USA, UAG36MB Nostalgie hood (painted steel, price, pre-order), ILVE USA, UANB36EGG Noblesse hood, Customs record, ILVE USA LLC (ImportGenius), ILVE USA warranty, BBB complaints, ILVE USA (previous distributor bankrupt), BBB profile, ILVE USA LLC, AJ Madison, UAG36MB (price, no reviews), ILVE USA, UAG36RA (RAL price). Link to this entry
KitchenAidMatches the Juniper and Black Ore ranges, in stock.
No factory or country named for the hood, unlike its ranges.
One year parts and labor, KitchenAid's standard.
KitchenAid-certified technicians claiming 97% national coverage. No hood-specific service record.
No CPSC recall found on this hood line.
Two reviews on Abt, both five stars: too few to go on. The brand-wide Trustpilot score is 1.3.
Juniper or Black Ore, matching its ranges, with handle kits in brass or bronze. No sample.
$1,826 for the 30 inch wall hood in Black Ore or Juniper at Abt
In stock with free shipping at Abt.
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: Abt, KVWC730SBE hood in Black Ore (price, two reviews), KitchenAid warranty page, KitchenAid service (W Service network), CPSC recall notice, 2001 (microwave-hood combinations, context only), Trustpilot, kitchenaid.com. Link to this entry
La CornuePriced like a range from most brands, with the range's warranty question attached.
Sold as La Cornue, with no maker or country named for the hood. Its CornuFé ranges are built by AGA Rangemaster in the United Kingdom.
Dealers state five years parts and labor. The brand's own range manual says three, and no hood document settles it.
The same national service line as the ranges, which sends out independent technicians. No hood-specific record.
No hood recall. The September 2026 recall covers CornuFé ranges only.
P.C. Richard shows 4.1 stars, but the reviews themselves would not load. Nothing else found.
The CornuFé colors, such as Roquefort and Wintersky. Whether the free printed samples cover hoods is not stated.
$7,036 for the 36 inch CornuFé hood in Roquefort, P.C. Richard
Listed but not in stock: 'not available in your area', with no lead time given.
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: P.C. Richard, CornuFe 36 inch hood in Roquefort (warranty claim, rating, price), CornuFe manual (three-year warranty text), La Cornue USA parts and service, CPSC recall notice, Sept 2026 (ranges only), La Cornue USA contact page (Composition Brands). Link to this entry
LacancheIt matches the range exactly, on the same five to six month wait.
Sold by the same importer as the ranges, but it does not say where the hood shells are made.
Not found. The importer's warranty page covers ranges and never mentions hoods.
The importer's 300-plus service providers are the only channel named; it does not say they cover hoods.
No CPSC recall found.
No owner reviews of the hoods found.
The range's enamel colors, for $350 on the hood and $250 on the duct cover. No sample to order.
About $6,800 for the hood to match the 27 inch Cormatin in a premium color, before shipping
'Lead Time: 5-6 months from order confirmation to delivery.'
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: Art Culinaire: Lacanche hood models (color upcharge), Art Culinaire: LH900 hood (price, 5 to 6 month lead time), Art Culinaire: Cormatin page (hoods distributed by the importer), Art Culinaire: service and warranty (ranges only), Art Culinaire: Lacanche history, CPSC recall notice, Sept 2026 (Lacanche not named). Link to this entry
LGOne of the few hoods where the color costs less than stainless.
No factory or country named on LG's site.
Two years parts and labor, from retailer pages. LG's own hood warranty document was not read.
LG's own technicians in all major US cities. No hood-specific service record.
No CPSC recall found on an LG hood.
No reviews of this hood could be found.
One finish, Essence White, and it costs less than stainless. No sample.
$1,349 for the 30 inch LG STUDIO wall hood in Essence White, $50 less than stainless
Sold through retailers only; no lead time published.
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: LG STUDIO LSHD3080N Essence White hood, product page, LG Direct Service, CPSC recall notice, Feb 2025 (LG ranges, not hoods). Link to this entry
MieleGerman-made and named, with one of the weakest service records here.
Names the plant: 'Arnsberg is the centre of excellence for the development and production of cooker hoods.'
Two years parts and labor, but the finish is covered for only 60 days, and 'slight color variations' are excluded.
Factory-trained and independent technicians. A Houzz owner: four of seven Miele appliances failed in eight months, with nine service calls.
No CPSC recall on a Miele hood. Its only US recall was a 2008 gas dryer.
BBB F with 41 unresolved complaints, and 1.2 from 419 on Trustpilot.
Obsidian Black, Brilliant White or Truffle Brown on the wall hood. No sample, no change later.
$3,899 for the DA 6698 W wall hood in Obsidian Black, Brilliant White or Truffle Brown, mieleusa.com
Sold only through Miele dealers; no stock or lead time shown.
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: Miele Arnsberg factory (cooker hoods), Miele US limited warranty PDF (60-day cosmetic), Houzz: do not buy Miele appliances (nine service calls), CPSC recall data, Miele (2008 gas dryer only), BBB profile, Miele Inc, Trustpilot, mieleusa.com, Miele USA, DA 6698 W wall hood in Obsidian Black (price, colors), Miele USA, DAS 4930 insert hood in Obsidian Black (price). Link to this entry
Samsung BespokeThe cheapest white hood here, while the sale lasts.
No factory or country named on Samsung's site.
One year standard, with a free second year on offer until 30 September 2026.
The same authorized service network as Samsung's ranges, where owners report long waits.
No CPSC recall found on a Samsung hood. Its 2024 recall covered ranges.
4.5 from 54 at Home Depot on this hood, far better than Samsung's brand-wide scores.
Clean White or Clean Deep Charcoal. No sample, and no way to change it later.
$699 for the 30 inch wall hood in Clean White at Home Depot, reduced from $1,049
Samsung's own site showed it unavailable, but Home Depot offered delivery.
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: Samsung, Bespoke 30 inch hood in Clean White (product page), Samsung home appliance warranty page (hood term, promo), ConsumerAffairs, Samsung ranges (service waits), CPSC recall notice, Aug 2024 (ranges only), Home Depot, Samsung NK30CB600W12 Clean White (rating, price), Home Depot, Samsung NK36CB600W33 Clean Deep Charcoal. Link to this entry
SmegThe Portofino color hoods are being cleared; the 48 inch red is $749 while stock lasts.
Smeg's own hood, 'painted material' on steel. The hood pages do not say where or by whom it is made. Smeg says its ovens are produced in Italy, but says nothing about hoods.
Smeg's full two-year warranty, parts and labor, covers its hoods. AJ Madison lists 2 years.
Dealer first, then one outside firm, ADCO. A reviewer: ten local repair companies refused because they will not work on European closed-system appliances.
No CPSC recall found on a Smeg hood. Smeg's 2024 recall was on FAB38U fridges.
No public record. Zero reviews at AJ Madison on the matte white and red hoods, not sold at the big boxes, and no owner thread found. The brand's Trustpilot is 1.3 from 243.
Matte white or matte black on the current Universal hood, at the stainless price. Portofino red and anthracite are clearance stock only. No custom colors, and no color change later.
$1,099 for the 36 inch Universal in matte white, AJ Madison
Not checked at product level; Smeg publishes no hood lead time.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Smeg USA, KBTU36MW (painted material), Smeg USA hoods list, AJ Madison, KBTU36MW (no reviews, price), AJ Madison, KPF48URD Portofino red (clearance, warranty), Smeg USA major appliance warranty PDF (ADCO), Trustpilot, smeg.com, CPSC recall notice, Aug 2024 (FAB38U fridges), Smeg USA, KPF36UAN Portofino hood. Link to this entry
ThorColor costs nothing extra on most models; the 36 inch under-cabinet is $140 more.
Publishes no origin; customs records name Hyxion in Dongguan, China. Its own copy on the white and black hoods describes a 'stainless steel finish', so the coating is not described.
No hood-specific term found. Thor's range warranty is two years parts and labor, with in-home service 'subject to availability' and cosmetic damage excluded.
A service case then a contracted technician if one exists locally. An owner was told to find their own.
No CPSC recall found.
No public record. No retailer reviews found for the white or black Thor hoods, and no owner threads.
White or black only, no custom colors. No colored hood to go with the colored Gordon Ramsay ranges.
$399 for the 30 inch wall chimney in white or black, direct
Thor's own store: 'currently unavailable for online purchase'. Sold through dealers.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Thor Kitchen store (hood feed, prices), Customs record, Thor Group (ImportGenius, Hyxion), Thor Kitchen warranty page, Thor Kitchen service page, Lowe's collection: Thor Gordon Ramsay range and wall hood, Home Outlet Direct: about Thor Kitchen (owner comments on parts). Link to this entry
UniqueUnique's spec sheet says 500 CFM; its product page says both 500 and 700.
'Assembled at one of our factories (Europe/Asia/Canada)' and it will not say which. No country on the hood pages or the spec sheet. Steel shell; the coating type is not stated.
One year limited. No parts and labor split published, and no hood-specific term found.
'Unique is a manufacturer only and is not open to the general public.' Buyers report one servicer in the US.
No CPSC recall found.
4.4 from 20 at Home Depot, 78% recommend, pooled across sizes and colors. Owners praise thick metal and a quiet fan; others report bubbling, chipping and a wrong drill template.
Five colors, no custom, no color change later. Sold as 'the perfect match' for the range, yet an owner said the Ocean Mist Turquoise hood came out looking like Robin Egg Blue.
$799 for the 30 inch Classic Retro in Robin Egg Blue, direct
Listed in every color at Home Depot, Lowe's and Amazon; no current delivery date could be read.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Unique 30 inch Classic Retro hood spec sheet, Home Depot reviews, Unique 36 inch hood, Unique, 30 inch hood in Summer Mint Green (price), Unique warranty policy page, Unique contact page ('manufacturer only'), Best Buy Q&A: Unique on where units are assembled, BBB profile, Unique Gas Products Ltd. Link to this entry
VikingThe same hood in stainless is $1,769.
Viking's own brand, Greenwood, Mississippi, part of Composition Brands since February 2026. Where the hood is built and how the color is applied: not stated.
Two years, per AJ Madison and Viking's brand warranty. A hood-specific warranty document was not found.
Authorized third-party servicers by zip code, plus its own showrooms.
No CPSC recall found on a Viking hood. Viking's recalls are on ranges, fridges, dishwashers and a toaster.
No public record. 'Be the first to write a review' at AJ Madison, and no colored-hood reviews found at Best Buy, Home Depot or on Reddit.
Eighteen colors with the same names and codes as Viking's ranges. But color adds $1,400 over stainless, there are no custom colors, and only the 36 inch was found in color.
$3,169 for the 36 inch 5 Series wall hood in any color, AJ Madison
Colored 5 Series hoods show no availability at one dealer and 'Notify me when this item is available' at another.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: AJ Madison, VWH3610SS (stainless price, no reviews; colors $3,169), AJ Madison, Viking range hoods (warranty filter), Viking warranty page, Viking support FAQs (servicers by zip code), Business Wire: Composition Brands, Viking recall and safety information, Viking color collection. Link to this entry
WolfBlack or white glass, and no price until you ask.
Wolf says its appliances are built in Fitchburg, Wisconsin; it does not say so for hoods specifically.
Two years parts and labor, and the blower motor is covered to five years, parts only.
Its own Factory Certified Service network, searchable by zip code. No hood-specific service record found.
No CPSC recall found on a Wolf hood. Its recalls were on ranges.
No hood-specific record. The brand's 1.7 from 183 on ConsumerAffairs covers everything it makes.
Black glass on the wall and island hoods, white glass on the ceiling hoods, otherwise stainless. No way to change it later.
Not published. Wolf bars its dealers from showing a price online.
The 30 inch black glass wall hood is in stock at Designer Appliances, with delivery in two to three days.
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: Wolf FAQ: who makes Wolf appliances, Wolf residential limited warranty PDF (blower motors five years), Wolf Factory Certified Service, CPSC manufacturer page, Sub-Zero (no hood recall), ConsumerAffairs, Wolf cooking appliances, Wolf ventilation (black or white glass), Designer Appliances, VW30B (price hidden, in stock). Link to this entry
ZLINEThe color is a shell over a stainless hood, as on ZLINE's colored-door ranges.
ZLINE of Reno, Nevada. Its FAQ says locations 'can vary by product and model', and where the hoods are made is not stated. It does say plainly the color is a shell over stainless.
Three years parts only, plus a limited lifetime warranty on the motor. The longest cover here, but no labor: you pay the technician.
The largest service operation of the small brands. A hood owner on Lowe's: case logged, promised contact in 24 to 72 hours, nothing after five days.
No CPSC recall found on a ZLINE hood. ZLINE's recalls are on gas ranges and wall ovens.
4.6 from 403 at Lowe's, but the pool mixes in ZLINE's own site reviews, range reviews and incentivized reviews. Complaints: a sharp flange, a loose screw, missing install hardware.
Six shell colors, gloss and matte, plus copper and bronze. Color costs little or nothing over stainless. No custom colors, no shells sold separately, and no stated match to the range door.
$485.99 for the 30 inch Autograph KB4 in white matte, ZLINE and Lowe's
White matte in stock at retail, delivered in about a week, free curbside.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: ZLINE, 8654STX-BG-36 (shell over stainless, warranty, price), ZLINE FAQ, ZLINE warranty page (hoods 3 years parts only), Lowe's reviews, ZLINE KB4STX-WM-36, Trustpilot, zlinekitchen.com, Home Depot, ZLINE 8654SNX-BG-36 (price), CPSC recall notice, May 2024 (ZLINE wall ovens, not hoods). Link to this entry
There is deliberately no overall score. The trade-off is the point. A buyer choosing on looks weighs color and price; a buyer who cooks every day weighs the warranty and who turns up when it breaks. One number would hide exactly what this table exists to show.
A brand we do not sell can win a column, and several do. The scores come from the same sources whether we sell the brand or not.
What the review scores mean. A retailer star rating measures the product on the day it arrives. A Better Business Bureau record or a Trustpilot score measures what happens when it breaks in year one. Where the two disagree sharply, the gap is the finding.
Sources. Manufacturer warranty documents and FAQ pages; US Consumer Product Safety Commission recall notices; US Customs import records; Trustpilot, Better Business Bureau, Home Depot, Lowe's and Best Buy review records; Reddit and Houzz owner threads. Read September 2026.
Speak to us before you buy.
Our appliance team answers the phone. A real person, before you spend real money.













