Refrigerators, rated on who makes it, the warranty and the repairs
Every refrigerator brand that sells in color, scored out of 10 on the eight things buyers spend months trying to find out. Every score traces to a manufacturer's own words, a government recall notice, or a review record.

What each column measures
- Who makes it
- Names the maker and the country?
- Warranty
- How long, and what voids it
- Repair
- Does anyone turn up?
- Safety
- Recalls, and did the fix work
- Owners
- What the reviews really say
- Color
- Choice, samples, changing it later
- Price
- Street price today
- Delivery
- In stock, or weeks away?
- How it arrives
- Curb, inside the door, the room, or installed?
| Brand | |||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Big ChillThe best color program on a fridge someone else built. | 2 | 2 | 2 | 8 | 2 | 10 | 8 | 4 | 4 |
| BlueStarOver 1,000 colors, on a freestanding fridge that does not say where it is built. | 4 | 5 | 4 | 8 | 2 | 9 | 8 | 5 | 4 |
| DanbyAn apartment-size fridge, not a kitchen fridge, and danby.com delivers to the curb only. | 4 | 2 | 2 | 9 | 5 | 3 | 10 | 9 | 4 |
| Del Mar Appliance Co.Our own brand: a new fridge on sale from September 2026, with no owner record behind it yet. | 7 | 9 | 8 | 9 | 2 | 6 | 9 | 4 | 10 |
| Elmira NorthstarNames its manufacturer plainly, and the widest color offer after Big Chill. | 8 | 5 | 3 | 9 | 4 | 9 | 7 | 2 | 3 |
| Frigidaire retroA compact, not a kitchen fridge: $349 for the 7.5 cubic foot EFR756. | 1 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 6 | 3 | 10 | 10 | 5 |
| GalanzThe cheapest real retro fridge, with the most serious recall on the brand. | 8 | 4 | 6 | 2 | 7 | 3 | 10 | 9 | 6 |
| GE CaféMainstream warranty and factory service, but the only colors are matte white and matte black. | 8 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 6 | 4 | 8 | 9 | 9 |
| iioThe hardest to buy: out of stock direct, and one Lowe's listing. | 2 | 4 | 4 | 9 | 4 | 4 | 9 | 5 | 4 |
| KitchenAidA green full-size fridge you can buy this week at a normal price. | 4 | 3 | 4 | 9 | 3 | 6 | 9 | 8 | 6 |
| KuchtThere is no colored Kucht fridge: the color is a cabinet panel you have made for it. | 3 | 8 | 3 | 9 | 4 | 7 | 8 | 8 | 4 |
| LGEssence White is the only color LG sells on a US fridge, and only on one model. | 6 | 9 | 8 | 8 | 5 | 2 | 9 | 8 | 8 |
| MielePanel-ready only: the color is your cabinet maker's, on a German warranty with weak service behind it. | 3 | 7 | 3 | 9 | 2 | 5 | 5 | 3 | 5 |
| Samsung BespokeThe mainstream benchmark for warranty and service, but the colored panels that made it a color fridge are gone. | 7 | 9 | 9 | 7 | 7 | 3 | 9 | 10 | 8 |
| SmegThe retro fridge buyers name most, with a service record that frightens them. | 8 | 6 | 3 | 6 | 3 | 6 | 8 | 5 | 6 |
| Sub-ZeroNo color of its own: the color is a panel your cabinet maker paints, on the longest warranty here. | 9 | 8 | 7 | 9 | 6 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 3 |
| UniqueThe cheapest full-size retro fridge from a boutique brand, $1,414 for the 24 inch at Home Depot. | 3 | 2 | 2 | 9 | 6 | 5 | 9 | 9 | 5 |
| VikingNo color Viking fridge was found on sale today. | 6 | 9 | 4 | 3 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| ZLINEThe only color is white matte, as factory panels on a stainless built-in. | 2 | 5 | 3 | 8 | 3 | 3 | 5 | 8 | 5 |
Why each brand scored what it did
Open a brand to read the sourced reason behind all eight numbers, when it was checked, and the sources.
Big ChillThe best color program on a fridge someone else built.
Built on another maker's fridge. Its FAQ says only 'big name components, give us a call'; on the BBB record Big Chill named Beko, and buyers name Whirlpool.
One year parts and labor from delivery, and 24 hours to report cosmetic damage.
No published service network. A reviewer: 'They have no established designated service network.'
No fridge recall. Its 2018 recall was on ranges and wall ovens.
No Trustpilot reviews at all. BBB D-, and all four reviews are one star. The 4.8 from 268 is on Big Chill's own store, which it moderates.
Seven standard, six premium and 200+ RAL custom colors, with a $5 swatch and a $30 color fan. Custom orders cannot be canceled or returned.
$4,495 for the main model today
Built to order: the Original 'Allow 3-5 weeks for production', the Studio 28 inch 7 to 9 weeks, plus one to three weeks transit. Custom color adds two weeks and $795.
Curbside, and you pay for it: from $199 to the curb, from $399 carried in and uncrated, $75 a flight of stairs. No haul-away of the old fridge. bigchill.com.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: BBB complaints, Big Chill (names Beko as the base), Big Chill FAQ, Big Chill limited warranty PDF, CPSC recall notice, Sept 2018 (ranges and wall ovens), Trustpilot, bigchill.com (no reviews), BBB profile, Big Chill LLC, Big Chill Retro Original fridge page (price, colors, own-site reviews), Big Chill shipping page (custom colors non-returnable). Link to this entry
BlueStarOver 1,000 colors, on a freestanding fridge that does not say where it is built.
Its PRO built-ins say 'Designed and Manufactured in USA'. The freestanding FBFD36 does not: its manual names no factory and no country, and carries European compliance sections.
The FBFD36 gets two years parts and labor and nothing longer on the compressor. Cosmetic 30 days. Void if the fridge is moved; mileage past 50 miles is yours.
Third-party servicers with a locator. On a BBB fridge complaint BlueStar wrote that local servicers said they were 'not certified to complete this repair'. One owner: 9 service calls in 3 years.
No BlueStar fridge recall found. Its 2013 and 2018 recalls were on wall ovens and gas ranges.
No retailer review pool found for its fridges. Trustpilot 2.0 from 15, BBB D- for failing to respond. The fridge reviews that exist describe repeat service calls and a replaced compressor.
1,000+ RAL colors plus a custom match to your sample, and 10 trims. $20 metal swatch, up to $100 credited back. Four stock colors cost nothing extra; any other adds $1,895 or more.
$4,595 for the 36 inch French door in a stock color today; any other RAL color from $6,490
Quick Ship lists the 36 inch counter-depth fridge as 'Ships in 2 weeks'. Any RAL color beyond the stock four: no lead time published.
Dealer only. US Appliance ships free with no level stated, and sells an in-home, room-of-choice upgrade for $199. No haul-away offered.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: BlueStar refrigeration page (models, 1,000+ colors, prices), BlueStar FBFD36 user manual (no factory named), BlueStar freestanding refrigerator warranty PDF, BBB complaints, BlueStar (servicers not certified), BBB profile, BlueStar Cooking, Trustpilot, bluestarcooking.com, Plesser's, FBFD361 (color tiers and prices), CPSC recall notice, Sept 2018 (ranges and wall ovens, not fridges). Link to this entry
DanbyAn apartment-size fridge, not a kitchen fridge, and danby.com delivers to the curb only.
Canadian, based in Guelph. The fridge page names no factory. A Danby rep, answering about a freezer: 'Manufacturing and final assembly take place in China'. Customs records name Zhejiang Xingxing.
Twelve months parts and labor, nothing longer on the compressor, plastic parts 30 days. A garage or patio install voids it. Past 62 miles from a service center you take it in.
Authorized third-party depots, and Danby does not guarantee 'availability of service technicians in all areas'. A freezer owner was asked to find a repair company themselves.
No recall on the retro fridges. A 2005 shock-hazard recall covered two older Danby upright models built by W.C. Wood, with no injuries reported.
4.2 from 37 at Home Depot on the 11 cu. ft., pooled with the black and Canadian reviews. Complaints: water pooling on the floor and 'doesn't maintain safe temps'. Trustpilot 1.7 from 45.
Painted in metallic red or black on the 11 cu. ft., four colors on the 4.4 cu. ft. compact. No samples, no custom color, and the color cannot be changed.
$800 for the red 11 cu. ft., an apartment-size fridge, not a full-size one
In stock at dealers with free shipping, and at Home Depot with free ship to store.
Curbside, included, and nothing above it: danby.com says it is not able to provide inside, white-glove or room-of-choice delivery.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Danby, DAR110A3LDB product page (finish, price, warranty), Best Buy Q&A: Danby rep on manufacturing in China, Customs record, Danby Products Inc (ImportGenius), Danby DAR110A3 owner's manual (warranty text), Danby support page (technician availability not guaranteed), Trustpilot, danby.com, CPSC recall notice, Sept 2005 (W.C. Wood uprights incl. Danby), Home Depot reviews, Danby DAR110A3LDB. Link to this entry
Del Mar Appliance Co.Our own brand: a new fridge on sale from September 2026, with no owner record behind it yet.
Our own brand. Designed in Del Mar, San Diego, California, and built to our specification by a specialist refrigeration factory in Guangdong, China, then shipped by container to our California warehouse.
Five years of parts and labor, repaired in the home, included in the price and claimed through one number in San Diego; the plan is administered by CPS (Consumer Priority Service). Longer than any fridge brand on this row.
In-home service through CPS's national technician network, arranged by Colorful Brands in San Diego, for the full five years. No track record with this fridge yet, which keeps it below the brands with their own service arms.
ETL Listed to the US safety standard for household refrigerators (UL 60335-2-24). No recall: a new fridge, on sale from September 2026.
No owner reviews yet. A new brand, on sale from September 2026; the first owners' words go here as they come in, cons included.
Nine colors named for the San Diego coast, every color at the same price. No custom colors.
$1,899 for the 9.9 cu. ft. single door
Ships in 8 to 10 weeks from our California warehouse. Not sold anywhere else.
Installed, old fridge taken away, free: carried to the room you choose, unboxed, leveled and plugged in, packaging removed, and your old fridge taken away on request. Anywhere in the lower 48.
Checked Sep 10, 2026. Sources: The factory's BC-330RD product page (specs, colors), The factory's BCD-401R-S product page (two-door), Amazon US, the factory's own-brand BC-330RD (one review, unavailable), Amazon Germany, the factory's SC-130RB-S drinks fridge (European owners on cooling and support), Amazon Germany, the factory's SC-46 drinks fridge (maker went quiet). Link to this entry
Elmira NorthstarNames its manufacturer plainly, and the widest color offer after Big Chill.
Says it plainly in its own FAQ: the base units are made in North America, and the sides, caps and doors are formed and painted in Canada. Buyers traced the base to Amana and Whirlpool.
One year parts and labor, plus four years parts on the compressor and sealed unit. The prose promises only 'fair service labor rates' in year one.
Dealer-led. No technician locator and no service page.
No CPSC recall found. The cleanest record here.
No Trustpilot profile, and a BBB A+ with no complaints and no reviews. Fifty years in business and almost no public record either way.
Eight standard colors plus 200+ RAL and color matching to your own sample. No sample chips sold.
$5,295 for the main model today
Dealer only, made to order. No lead time published; the brand's own store shows every fridge as sold out.
Nothing published: 'Contact dealer for availability and shipping details.' The shipping policy page is missing.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Elmira FAQs (base units bought in, panels painted in Canada), Houzz: Northstar vs Big Chill (Amana and Whirlpool bases), Elmira product warranty page, Elmira where to buy (dealer-led), BBB profile, Elmira Stove Works (Canada), Elmira Northstar 1950 fridge product page (colors, price), Elmira Northstar refrigerators collection, Houzz: Elmira Northstar fridge feedback thread. Link to this entry
Frigidaire retroA compact, not a kitchen fridge: $349 for the 7.5 cubic foot EFR756.
Not Frigidaire. The name is licensed from Electrolux to Curtis International of Canada, and the CPSC names the factory as ShangYu North Electron in China.
One year parts and one year labor from Curtis International, not Frigidaire. The remedy is return and replace, not a repair.
No in-home service network. You send it back.
Curtis has recalled about 964,000 Frigidaire-branded minifridges for fire in 2025 and 2026. Those are the small EFMIS models, not the EFR retro line.
3.0 to 4.6 at Home Depot across the range, 4.2 from 1,042 on the 3.2 cubic foot EFR376.
Three to six colors depending on the model. No custom colors, no chips.
$349 for the main model today (a compact, not a full-size fridge)
Ships as a parcel: free one to two day delivery at Home Depot, UPS Ground at Costco.
A parcel: UPS Ground to the doorstep, included in the price at Costco. Nobody carries it in.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Curtis International, EFR756 product page (licensed brand, colors), Curtis International warranty and services page, CPSC recall notice, July 2025 (634,000 minifridges), CPSC recall notice, Jan 2026 (330,000 more), Curtis International recall information page, Curtis International product support (return authorization), Amazon, Frigidaire EFR756 (reviews), Curtis EFR warranty document (device.report copy). Link to this entry
GalanzThe cheapest real retro fridge, with the most serious recall on the brand.
Says it plainly: 'proudly manufactured in Guangdong, China', in its own factory.
One year, with five years on the compressor on some models. No parts and labor split published.
'In-home service is available for all major appliances', in its own words.
July 2026 recall of about 121,680 retro fridges for fire, 34 fires and one death. It covers the 7.6 cubic foot GLR76, not the current 12 and 18 cubic foot line.
4.2 from 4,885 at Home Depot, the biggest review pool here by far, and 3.8 from 1,067 on Amazon.
Around four colors plus stainless, and color costs more than the fridge: $699.99 in black, $1,354.36 for the same fridge in red.
$700 for the main model today
In stock at Home Depot with free delivery or free ship to store. Galanz sells only through retailers.
Sold through Home Depot, whose free appliance delivery normally sets a freestanding fridge in place, leveled and plugged in; whether that applies to this fridge is not stated on its page, and Galanz publishes no level of its own.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Galanz FAQs (made in Guangdong, in-home service), Galanz guarantee (warranty terms), CPSC recall notice, July 2026 (retro fridges, one death), Home Depot, Galanz 12 cu ft retro in Hot Rod Red (rating, price), Home Depot reviews, Galanz GLR12TRDEFR, Trustpilot, galanz.com, Wikipedia: Galanz, Galanz US site. Link to this entry
GE CaféMainstream warranty and factory service, but the only colors are matte white and matte black.
The product page says 'Produced In Our American Manufacturing Plants'. GE Appliances, a Haier company, builds fridges in Kentucky, Alabama and Tennessee; which plant makes this one is not stated.
One year parts and labor, five years parts and labor on the sealed system. Finish flaws must be reported within 48 hours of delivery. It passes to the next owner.
GE Appliances' own Factory Service Centers or an authorized technician, in your home. Where no authorized servicer covers you, you may pay a trip charge or have to bring it in.
No Café fridge recall found. A 2022 recall of about 155,000 GE-brand French door fridges, for freezer handles that could come off, covered six stainless GE models, not Café.
4.0 from 3,051 at Home Depot on the main model, pooled across matte and stainless. Trustpilot 1.9 from 19. GE Appliances' BBB record: 3,560 complaints in three years, 1.07 from 994.
Matte white or matte black, $200 over stainless at list. Six handle finishes, swappable later with a $399 to $539 kit. Samples go to designers only. No custom color.
$3,869 for the matte white 22 cu. ft. French door today
Matte white fridges in stock at dealers, estimated delivery within a week, free freight.
Installed: set in place, leveled and connected, the old appliance hauled away for recycling at no extra cost, on Café's own site. Hookup 'may vary by state or local area'.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Café, CYE22TP4MW2 product page (American plants, warranty, price), Café refrigerator limited warranty PDF, GE Appliances company facts (plants), CPSC recall notice, April 2022 (GE-brand French door fridges), Trustpilot, cafeappliances.com, BBB profile, GE Appliances, Home Depot, Café Matte White refrigerators (pooled ratings), Café custom hardware (six handle finishes). Link to this entry
iioThe hardest to buy: out of stock direct, and one Lowe's listing.
Never states a country, a factory or a base appliance anywhere on its site.
One year on the RR2 and two years on the RM1, parts and labor, in-home.
'In-home or carry-in' service through a central desk.
No CPSC recall found.
3.6 from 12 at Lowe's on the RM1. Its own site shows 5.0 from 5 and 4.8 from 6.
Five colors per line, including a real turquoise and wine red. Every fridge was out of stock on its own store.
$1,599 for the main model today
iio's own store shows every fridge 'currently out of stock and unavailable'. Lowe's and Wayfair carry some colors; when in stock iio ships 'within 2-3 business days'.
Curbside: 'Freight items are delivered curbside or in your driveway on a pallet.' Nothing above it published.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: iio our story (no factory named), iio warranty and product registration, iio request service ('in-home or carry-in'), Lowe's, iio RM1 (3.6 from 12, price), iio Retro series page (own-site rating, colors), iio Retro-Mod page (own-site rating, colors), iio shop (every fridge out of stock), iio Retro RR2 product page. Link to this entry
KitchenAidA green full-size fridge you can buy this week at a normal price.
No factory named for this fridge. KitchenAid says most of its appliances are made in the US; it does not say where this one is.
One year parts and labor. Older KitchenAid documents add years two to five on sealed-system parts; not confirmed for this model.
KitchenAid-certified technicians. An owner was 'without refrigeration for 3 weeks' after a control board failed.
No CPSC recall found on a KitchenAid fridge.
A 2026 owner called one 'the worst appliance I have ever owned'. Brand-wide Trustpilot is 1.3.
Juniper green or Black Ore on the doors, with handle kits in brass, bronze or black that swap later. The body color is permanent.
$2,698 for the 36 inch counter-depth French door in Juniper or Black Ore at Abt
In stock with free shipping at Abt.
Inside the door: free in-home delivery on major appliances over $399, not unpacked. Installation and 'unpack, set in place and haul away' are paid add-ons, priced only in the cart.
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: Abt, KRFC236SBE (Black Ore, price, handle kits), KitchenAid: stayed in America (brand-wide plant claim), KitchenAid warranty page, KitchenAid service (W Service network), ConsumerAffairs, KitchenAid refrigerators, Trustpilot, kitchenaid.com, BBB profile, KitchenAid. Link to this entry
KuchtThere is no colored Kucht fridge: the color is a cabinet panel you have made for it.
Names no factory or country for its fridges, only components 'sourced worldwide, including Italy, Spain, Germany, the USA, and China'. Energy Star records list an identical ZLINE model.
Four years parts and labor on everything, counted from shipment, not installation. No longer term on the compressor. Cabinet work to pull a built-in out is not covered.
Service starts with a video call, not a visit. A Kucht fridge owner whose door handles kept falling off did two video calls and asked 'Why dont they send someone out to fix?'
No CPSC recall on any Kucht product.
4.7 from 16 at Home Depot, but all 16 come from kucht.com and are shared across the built-in family. On Reddit, an owner's second 18 inch freezer column failed within a year.
No factory color. The column takes a cabinet panel in any color you choose, about $2,000 more installed by third-party estimates, and a new panel changes it later.
$4,606 for the 24 inch panel-ready column today; the color comes from a panel you have made
Panel-ready columns, no color. In stock on Kucht's site; one retailer shows 'Estimated restock: 3-6 Weeks'.
Curbside by default; room of choice with unboxing and packaging removal 'in most metropolitan areas', price not published. Haul-away not mentioned.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Kucht, KR240TR product page (panel-ready), Customs record, Kucht LLC (ImportGenius), ENERGY STAR certified refrigerators data (Kucht and ZLINE twins), Kucht warranty page, BBB complaints, Kucht (fridge handles, video calls), Home Depot reviews, Kucht KR240TR, Reddit r/Appliances: Kucht freezer column failed twice, Home Depot, Kucht KR240TR (price). Link to this entry
LGEssence White is the only color LG sells on a US fridge, and only on one model.
LG's own fridge, warranted by LG Electronics U.S.A. The product page and spec sheet name no factory or country. A 2009 report describes an LG refrigerator plant in Monterrey, Mexico.
One year parts and labor, five years parts and labor on the sealed system and compressor, compressor parts to year ten. Handles are excluded, and finish damage must be reported within a week.
LG's own technicians in every major US city, plus authorized service centers, repairing in the home in and out of warranty.
One fridge recall, in 2005: about 20,800 three-door units for a fan motor fire risk, 82 reports, no injuries, repaired free at home. None on the Essence White or any LG STUDIO fridge.
4.0 from 81 at Home Depot, partly syndicated from lg.com, and 4.5 from 27 at Best Buy. One owner's fridge 'rarely gets below 40°F'. Trustpilot's 1.3 is LG's global profile.
One color, Essence White, with light bronze handles. No samples, no custom color, no way to change it later.
$2,899 for the Essence White 36 inch counter-depth French door today
Orderable on LG.com with 'FREE Room of Choice Delivery'. One dealer calls it a 'Special-Order Item. This may take several weeks or more.'
Room of choice, free, on LG.com, not unboxed. White-glove installation with removal of the old unit 'for a small fee', amount not published.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: LG STUDIO SRFB27W3 Essence White, product page, LG refrigerator limited warranty PDF, LG Direct Service, CPSC recall notice, June 2005 (LG three-door fridges), Home Depot reviews, SRFB27W3, Best Buy, LG STUDIO Essence White fridge (rating, price), Trustpilot, lg.com, Reliable Plant: LG Monterrey refrigerator plant (2009). Link to this entry
MielePanel-ready only: the color is your cabinet maker's, on a German warranty with weak service behind it.
Miele names its plants, but none of its pages say where MasterCool fridges are made.
Two years parts and labor, five years parts and labor on the sealed system, then five more on parts only. The finish is covered for 60 days.
Factory-trained and independent technicians. A Houzz owner describes a replacement Miele fridge that 'stopped cooling and spoiled food.'
No CPSC recall found on a Miele fridge.
BBB F with 41 unresolved complaints, and 1.2 from 419 on Trustpilot.
No factory color. It takes a cabinet panel in any color, bought separately, and a new panel changes it later.
$9,199 for the 24 inch panel-ready MasterCool, mieleusa.com (panel and handle extra)
Sold only through Miele dealers; no stock or lead time shown.
Dealer only, no level of its own. AJ Madison, the main online dealer, delivers free to the front door; white glove is a phone quote.
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: Miele production sites (none named for refrigeration), Miele US limited warranty PDF (sealed system terms), Houzz: do not buy Miele appliances (fridge that stopped cooling), CPSC recall data, Miele (2008 gas dryer only), BBB profile, Miele Inc, Trustpilot, mieleusa.com, Miele USA MasterCool refrigerators (panel-ready), Miele USA, K 2802 Vi 30 inch MasterCool (price). Link to this entry
Samsung BespokeThe mainstream benchmark for warranty and service, but the colored panels that made it a color fridge are gone.
Samsung's own fridge. Samsung does not publish the country; secondary sources say Gwangju, South Korea and Newberry, South Carolina.
The deepest here: one year parts and labor, five years on the sealed system parts and labor, ten years parts and five years labor on the compressor.
A real national in-home service network, in writing, at no charge in the contiguous US.
No recall on a Bespoke fridge, though more than 600 fridge complaints reached the CPSC in 2019-2021 without one. Samsung's 2024 range recall was separate.
4.4 to 4.6 at Home Depot across thousands of reviews, 4.7 from 2,004 at Best Buy. The 1.3 on Trustpilot is a global profile covering every Samsung product.
Bespoke fridges were sold with swappable colored door panels, but Samsung now says 'these panels are no longer available for purchase.' Owners who have panels can still swap them.
$2,199 for the main model today
Samsung: 'You can schedule your delivery in as little as 3 days', next day in some areas. Installation and haul-away cost extra.
Room of choice, up to three flights, unboxed on request, on Samsung's own site. Installation and haul-away are paid add-ons.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Samsung Bespoke refrigerator limited warranty PDF, CPSC recall notice, Aug 2024 (Samsung ranges, not fridges), Top Class Actions: 600+ CPSC fridge complaints, no recall, Trustpilot, samsung.com (global profile), Samsung US support: Bespoke panels no longer available, Samsung Canada support: Bespoke panel colors and withdrawal notice, Samsung Bespoke refrigerators page (warranty promo, delivery), SlashGear: where Samsung appliances are made (secondary). Link to this entry
SmegThe retro fridge buyers name most, with a service record that frightens them.
Smeg's own product, made in Italy, confirmed on the CPSC recall record.
One year full, a second year on the sealed system where you pay the trip, then years three to five sealed-system parts only.
The dealer first, then one outside firm, ADCO. A reviewer: ten local repair companies refused because they will not work on European closed-system appliances.
2024 recall of about 900 FAB38U fridges because the doors could come off. Nine reports, no injuries.
1.3 on Trustpilot from 243, 85% one-star. BBB A but 46 complaints and a 1.07 review score. No retailer review pool to speak of.
Around fifteen catalogue colors. No sample chips and no custom colors.
$3,199 for the main model today
Smeg's own US store showed the FAB28 in Pastel Green out of stock on 19 September 2026, and out of stock at Home Depot. When it is in stock, Smeg's standard shipping is '3 to 5 business days'.
Smeg's US store states no level. Williams Sonoma sells it with room-of-choice white glove at a flat rate; AJ Madison delivers to the front door. 'SMEG does not offer installation services.'
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Smeg USA refrigerator warranty PDF (FAB28), CPSC recall notice, Aug 2024 (FAB38U doors), Trustpilot, smeg.com, BBB profile, SMEG USA, BBB complaints, SMEG USA (no technician found), Williams Sonoma, Smeg FAB28 (made in Italy, price, white glove), Smeg USA, FAB28URDIT3 product page (colors), Smeg store FAQ (two-year warranty, no installation). Link to this entry
Sub-ZeroNo color of its own: the color is a panel your cabinet maker paints, on the longest warranty here.
Names its plants, in Fitchburg, Wisconsin, and Goodyear, Arizona, and calls itself an American manufacturer.
Three years full, five years full on the sealed system, then parts only on it to year twelve, and only through Sub-Zero's own certified service.
Its own Factory Certified Service network. Yale Appliance, a dealer that tracks service calls, puts Sub-Zero below the average repair rate for built-in fridges.
One recall ever, in 1994, for two models that could tip forward.
Dealers rank it among the most reliable built-in fridges. Reviews on the BBB are mixed, with complaints about the cost of repairs.
No factory color. It takes a cabinet panel in any color, made by your own cabinet maker, and a new panel changes it later.
$10,525 for the 24 inch panel-ready column, on Sub-Zero's own site
Built to order. Dealers quote seven months to over a year for some columns, and Sub-Zero gives lead times only to its distributors.
Dealer only, no online sales, and Sub-Zero 'do not offer a list of delivery companies'; the dealer quotes delivery and installation.
Checked Sep 13, 2026. Sources: Sub-Zero press release: plants in Fitchburg and Goodyear, Sub-Zero residential limited warranty PDF, Sub-Zero Factory Certified Service, Yale Appliance: is a Sub-Zero refrigerator worth it (repair rates), CPSC manufacturer page, Sub-Zero (one recall, 1994), BBB profile, Sub-Zero Inc, Sub-Zero: how to order panels (cabinet maker supplies color), Sub-Zero, DEC2450R 24 inch column (price). Link to this entry
UniqueThe cheapest full-size retro fridge from a boutique brand, $1,414 for the 24 inch at Home Depot.
Designed in Oakville, Ontario, 'assembled at one of our factories, Europe, Asia or Canada', and it will not say which.
One year limited. No parts and labor split, no exclusions and no claim process published.
'Unique is a manufacturer only and is not open to the general public.' Buyers report one servicer in the whole US.
No CPSC recall found.
4.4 from 457 at Home Depot on its best-reviewed fridge, 3.9 from 10 at Best Buy. Its fridges review far better than its ranges.
Around ten colors, including a real mint and turquoise. No custom colors, no chips.
$1,414 for the main model today
In stock at Home Depot and Best Buy; delivery free at Home Depot, $29.99 to $39.99 at Best Buy.
Inside the door at most: Home Depot delivers it but says it 'doesn't qualify for our regular Installation or Haul Away services'.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Best Buy Q&A: Unique on where its fridges are assembled, Unique warranty policy page, Amazon, Unique 12 cu ft retro fridge (reviews, one US servicer), Trustpilot, uniqueappliances.com, Unique Classic Retro collection (prices, colors), Unique contact page ('manufacturer only'), Unique about page, BBB profile, Unique Gas Products Ltd. Link to this entry
VikingNo color Viking fridge was found on sale today.
Viking lists its manufacturing facility in Greenwood, Mississippi, but its fridge pages and spec sheets do not say where the fridges are built. Owned by Composition Brands.
Two years full, sealed system parts and labor to year six, parts only to year twelve. Cosmetic 90 days. After repeated failed repairs, a refund or replacement at Viking's choice.
Third-party authorized servicers with a locator, sold through dealers. Owners report months without a warranty fix and a long wait for parts.
Three fridge recalls: about 76,000 built-ins in 2009 and 2013 for doors that could detach, with 16 injuries, and 750 side-by-sides in 2013 for fire. None since 2013.
No reviews exist for the color side-by-side. Trustpilot 2.0 from 12, BBB 1 from 6 with 58 complaints in three years. A Houzz owner: 'their rate of repair seems much higher'.
Spec sheets still list 18 colors on the 5 Series side-by-side, but every color listing found is discontinued and Viking's site shows its fridges in stainless only. No samples found.
$13,929 last listed for the 42 inch side-by-side in color; no color Viking fridge is on sale today
No color fridge in stock found at retail, and Viking publishes no lead time.
Dealer only. AJ Madison's free delivery is to the front door, steps not included; room of choice and two-man carries by phone quote, built-in installation $368, removal $200.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: Viking indoor refrigeration warranty PDF, CPSC recall notice, June 2009 (built-in fridge doors detach), CPSC recall notice, July 2013 (bottom-freezer doors detach), CPSC recall notice, Nov 2013 (side-by-side fire hazard), BBB profile, Viking Range LLC, Houzz: Viking refrigerators, really that bad, Viking VCSB542 spec sheet (18 colors listed), Plesser's, VCSB5424EU (discontinued, last price). Link to this entry
ZLINEThe only color is white matte, as factory panels on a stainless built-in.
Its FAQ now says only that locations 'can vary by product and model'; the older wording naming China is gone. Energy Star lists this fridge on a record shared with Kucht and Bertazzoni.
Built-ins get two years parts and labor, then sealed-system parts only to year five, labor yours. Freestanding models get one year. Damage not reported before install may void it.
ZLINE-approved third-party providers, booked through a support portal. One owner's $11,000 fridge took a year and several service calls to work; another was sent a part and paid a technician.
No ZLINE fridge recall found. All four of its recalls are on gas ranges and wall ovens.
4.8 from 37 at Home Depot, but all come from zlinekitchen.com: 35 five-star, 2 one-star, nothing between. Reddit: 'Complete hot garbage. Basically unfixable.' BBB 1.02.
White matte is the only color, $1,350 over the same fridge sold panel-ready for your own panels. Handles in gold, bronze, black or nickel. No samples and no replacement panels listed.
$8,640 for the 36 inch white matte built-in French door today
White matte in stock but 'Low Stock' at retail, delivered in about a week, free curbside.
Curbside at Home Outlet Direct, 'the edge of your property (not inside your home)'. Lowe's bundles free installation and haul-away in select locations.
Checked Sep 8, 2026. Sources: ZLINE FAQ (locations vary by product), ZLINE, RBIV-WM-36 product page (white matte panels), ENERGY STAR certified refrigerators data (shared records), ZLINE warranty page (refrigeration terms), Trustpilot, zlinekitchen.com, Home Depot reviews, ZLINE RBIV-WM-36, Reddit r/Appliances: anyone know about ZLINE refrigerators, Home Depot, ZLINE RBIV-WM-36 (price, delivery). Link to this entry
There is deliberately no overall score. The trade-off is the point. A buyer choosing on looks weighs color and price; a buyer who cooks every day weighs the warranty and who turns up when it breaks. One number would hide exactly what this table exists to show.
A brand we do not sell can win a column, and several do. The scores come from the same sources whether we sell the brand or not.
What the review scores mean. A retailer star rating measures the product on the day it arrives. A Better Business Bureau record or a Trustpilot score measures what happens when it breaks in year one. Where the two disagree sharply, the gap is the finding.
Sources. Manufacturer warranty documents and FAQ pages; US Consumer Product Safety Commission recall notices; US Customs import records; Trustpilot, Better Business Bureau, Home Depot, Lowe's and Best Buy review records; Reddit and Houzz owner threads. Read September 2026.
Speak to us before you buy.
Our appliance team answers the phone. A real person, before you spend real money.













